top of page

Artist Statement

Through my practice, I seek to see how the image is constructed, both through a process and through the gaze that one projects on it. My work is rooted in the observation of fluid matter. It is by depositing the ink that the process begins : the image emerges from its movements and transformations, materializes in a multitude of forms.

I mainly use ink wash, for its unpredictability and for the variety of forms it produces. I am interested in the complexity that emerges from these ink fractals, in the evocative power that their visual duality makes possible. They evoke both organic and geographical elements, both in their appearance and in their structure. Movements and the phenomena that generate them refer to how fluid matter organizes itself, on both a microscopic and macroscopic scale.

I seek to present the image in its state of appearance, the image in the making, which is revealed by its manufacturing process. It is formed in matter, in time as well as in the projected gaze: because beyond its figural aspect, the image is thought of as a place of projection. How does it emerge in the viewer's gaze?

The oscillation is constant between matter and what it represents. I seek to create between-places: spaces that take shape in the gap between what is there and what is perceived, projective spaces whose scale is indefinite for us. Here and elsewhere are inseparable.

 

 

 

Caroline Gagnon was born in Montreal where she obtained her MFA at UQAM in 2011. Her work has been presented in several galleries and cultural centers across Canada. She has obtained several artist residencies, including the Québec-Mexico exchange supported by the Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec. Stemming from the printing arts, her practice now takes on a multidisciplinary form where printed images, video projections and installations are brought together.

Curriculum Vitae

bottom of page

© 2018 Caroline Gagnon. Proudly created with Wix.com

    Démarche artistique

    À travers ma pratique, je cherche à voir comment l’image se construit, tant à travers un procédé qu’à travers le regard que l’on y projette. Mon travail est ancré dans l’observation de la matière fluide. C’est en déposant l’encre que s’enclenche le processus : l’image émerge de ses mouvements et transformations, se matérialise dans une multitude de formes.

    J’utilise principalement le lavis d’encre, pour son imprévisibilité et pour la diversité des formes qu’il produit. Je m’intéresse à la complexité qui émerge de ces fractales d’encre, de la puissance évocatrice que rend possible leur dualité visuelle. Elles évoquent à la fois des éléments organiques ou géographiques, tant par leur aspect que par leur structure. Les mouvements et les phénomènes qui les génèrent renvoient à comment la matière fluide s’organise, à l’échelle microscopique comme macroscopique.

    Je cherche à présenter l’image dans son état d’apparition, l’image en devenir, qui se révèle par son processus de fabrication. Elle se forme dans la matière, dans le temps ainsi que dans le regard projeté : car au-delà de son aspect figural, l’image est pensée comme un lieu de projection. Comment émerge-t-elle dans le regard du spectateur?

    L’oscillation est constante entre la matière et ce qu’elle représente. Je cherche à créer des entre-lieux : des espaces qui prennent forme dans l’écart entre ce qui est là et ce qui est perçu, des espaces projectifs dont l’échelle nous est indéfinie. L’ici et l’ailleurs y sont indissociables.

     

     

     

    Caroline Gagnon vit et travaille à Montréal où elle a obtenu sa maîtrise en arts visuels et médiatiques à l'UQAM en 2011. Son travail a été présenté dans plusieurs galeries et centres culturels à travers le Canada. Elle a obtenu plusieurs résidences d’artistes, dont l’échange Québec-Mexico soutenu par le Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec. Issue des arts d'impression, sa pratique emprunte maintenant une forme multidisciplinaire où sont mises en relation images imprimées, projections vidéo et installations.